Sleepless in the Workforce

A few days ago an overwhelming sense of frustration melted over me like scorching hot water. Throughout the day I barked orders at people and glared at those who weren’t co-operating. Let me just clarify that this is not who I am. Ask any friend, family or – plainly put – a random person who lives within my community and I am 99.9% positive that they’ll say that the young adult is a sweetheart and a bit of a romantic and ponder about where’ve I’ve been and if I can help them with something. When the next day came, I talked to a friend who is a talking encyclopedia for everything medicine. I described my symptoms, the weariness and struggle that it is to get up in the morning and the work overload. She said that more sleep was the only cure.
Being a workaholic, I have heard this a million times. From my grandmother to my closest friends I’ve been given the lecture as to how a four hour slumber is not considered a good night’s rest. But yet I am addicted to finishing the proposals, getting to work on time and finishing an A+ quality paper. The crutches I use to reboot my low-energy are two hour naps, devouring any sugary-snack in sight and – when my eyes are red and creaking shut – a Coca-Cola. The following day’s results are nothing to be proud of. I can barely concentrate on the task at hand, I am as easily irritated as a dog that hasn’t been out in two days and am more exhausted. While work is my first priority, the scare tactics (or terrifying plausible realities) that my friend revealed jumped sleep from the last spot to the first on my to-do list.
While baggy eyes can be hidden with make-up, seizures are not something you can easily hide. Due to lack of sleep your body can go through a seizure or epilepsy. The eyes can roll back, foam drenches the mouth and the heart beats at a rapid rate. The possibility frightened me. Never did I think that a trend of skipping sleep can lead to such a terrifying result. However, the starting point and the end result need a bridge. Meaning: Nothing goes from frankly terrifying someone to them never doing it again. There needs to be ladder to help you get there.
So I composed a simple list of what workaholics should work on to get to bed earlier: 1) Skip on the empty calories such as candy and chocolate, instead reach for a fruit or veggie. 2) Stop milling around, chatting and wasting time. Use the free moments that you have to finish the task instead of going on YouTube and finding a music video. 3) While we may be health conscious, we need to put thoughts into actions. Take at least two to three days to exercise. If you do a work out for three hours minimum per week, the body will bring in more oxygen thus helping the body feel less stress and breathe better.
The one clause to this new reform that needs revision is the typical rejection to sodas. A scatter of one can per month, exclusively left for emergencies, will be left as the exception.

Prompt: Write a 500 word monologue in which the character discusses their vice.

Tags: , ,

One response to “Sleepless in the Workforce”

  1. Artists & Acoustic Adventures! says :

    Dear SleeplessintheWorkforce,

    I feel you as far as being over-worked and sleep-deprived! you have my sympathies to such a degree that i recorded a video blog just for your entertainment—i’ll even sing you half a Jason Mraz song if you check it out (seriously!)

    now wasn’t that a bit better than the typical “please, please won’t you come check out my blog…!”?

    i do hope you get rested up!

Leave a Reply

